Once items are created on Lightspeed Restaurant (K Series), they can’t be deleted but archived from the Back Office. Archiving items means that the status on the items page changes from active to inactive. The items information is hidden but not permanently deleted from the Back Office. So if needed, archived items can be activated again. Activated items will be displayed again on the Items page of the Back Office. This is very helpful in case an item is only offered seasonally.
You can only archive items, if they are not connected to a screen of a menu. So please check first whether or not an item is linked to a menu. From the Items page (Menu management > Items), select the amount of links button of the corresponding item in the status column. By selecting the button, an information window appears in which you can see the linked menu and the linked screen. By selecting one of these details you will be forwarded directly to the respective menu or screen. See Editing or deleting menus for further information about deleting item buttons from menus.
- Log in to the Back Office with your Lightspeed credentials.
- From the main navigation menu, select Menu management > Items.
- On the right side of the corresponding item, select Disable.
If you would like to activate items again, select inactive from the drop-down menu above the Status column at the Items page (Menu management > Items). All inactive items are shown. Choose the appropriate Items column and select the Enable button at the right side of the column. The item will be displayed again on the Items page of the Back Office.
See Understanding item languages for information about setting up different languages for your items description.