Hi. How can we help?

Disabling and reenabling items

Once items are created in Lightspeed Restaurant, they can’t be deleted but can be disabled from the Back Office. When disabling an item, its status changes from active to inactive. The item's information will be hidden but not permanently deleted from the Back Office. If needed, disabled items can be reactivated and displayed again on the Items page. Disabling items is helpful in various cases such as when an item is only offered seasonally or you are waiting for supplies from a vendor.

You can only disable items if they are not linked to a menu screen. Check the status of an item to see whether the item is linked to a menu.

 

We currently support two Back Offices: the Back Office 2.0 (sidebar navigation) and the Console Back Office (top-level navigation). 

This article applies to both Back Offices. When one Back Office differs from the other, the Console Back Office wording will be displayed in parentheses next to the Back Office 2.0 wording.

To use the Back Office 2.0 click here and log in with your current Back Office credentials. 

 

Table of contents:

Checking the item status

You can only disable items if they are not linked to a menu screen. Check the status of an item to see whether an item is linked to a menu.

  1. Log in to the Back Office with your Lightspeed credentials.
  2. From the navigation menu, select Menu management (Configuration > Items) > Items.
  3. Click the status of an item in the Status column.
  4. Click the linked menu or screen to be forwarded to the respective menu or screen. See Editing or deleting menus for details about deleting item buttons from menus.

Restaurant-BO-Checking-Item-Status.png

Disabling items

After checking the item status and unlinking an item, disable the item from the Back Office.

  1. Log in to the Back Office with your Lightspeed credentials.
  2. From the main navigation menu, select Menu management (Configuration > Items) > Items.
  3. On the right side of the corresponding item, click Disable.

Restaurant-BO-Disabling-Items.png

Reenabling items

Reactivate disabled items to display them again on the items page.

  1. Log in to the Back Office with your Lightspeed credentials.
  2. From the main navigation menu, select Menu management (Configuration > Items) > Items.
  3. Select Inactive from the drop-down menu above the Status column.
  4. Click the Enable button next to the item to reactivate. The item will be displayed again on the Items page of the Back Office.

Restaurant-BO-Enabling-Items.png

What’s next?

See Understanding item languages for information about setting up different languages for your items description.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful