Hi. How can we help?

Editing or archiving POS users

You can always edit a POS Office user if you ever wish to adjust their access permissions or need to archive (deactivate) the user.

If a user ever forgets their unique password and PIN (used to open a session on the POS), an admin user can adjust this by editing the user's information on the Back Office.

If you need some specific data on a user's sales, the Audit function is helpful. It displays a record of all user sales during a period which can be saved to your computer and printed out for documentation purposes.

See duplicating POS users, If you want some POS users to have similar user profiles, then you can simply duplicate an existing user and then customize the newly created user afterwards.

Edit business locations for POS users if you have several business locations.

You can also deactivate POS user information via the Back Office if for example an employee is no longer actively working with the team. This means the POS user will not be able to log in to the POS from the moment of deactivation.

 

Edit a POS user

By editing POS users you can make some further adjustments, such as changing or deleting the Pin code for logging in to the POS.

  1. Log in to the Back Office with your Lightspeed Restaurant account credentials.
  2. From the main navigation menu, select Configuration > Users > POS users.
  3. Select Configure.
  4. Define the user status.
    Note: The user status shows the user activity and user’s pin code. The user activity means if the user is allowed to use the POS (active) or not (inactive). The user’s pin code is the individual pin code for logging in to the POS. The code consists of four digits of choice.
  5. Change the user details as needed.
  6. Select Update.

Restaurant-BO-Editing-POS-Users.png

Audit

The Audit displays a record of all user sales during a period which can be saved to your computer and printed out for documentation purposes.

  1. From the POS user page, select the arrow next to the Configure button.
  2. Select Audit. The record for user sales will display.
  3. Select Save to text to save the given data into a text form and save on your computer.

Restaurant-BO-Audit-Duplicate-Edit-business-location.png


Duplicating POS users

If you want some POS users to have similar user profiles, then you can simply duplicate an existing user and then customize the new created user afterwards. This way you don't have to create a completely new user, you just make a few changes to the duplicated user

  1. From the POS user page, select the arrow next to the Configure button.
  2. Select Duplicate.
  3. Confirm the appearing message: Are you sure you want to duplicate this user? with Ok.

Restaurant-BO-Audit-Duplicate-Edit-business-location.png


Editing business location for POS users

You can manage which business locations POS users have access to from the POS user section in the Back Office.

  1. From the POS user page, select the arrow next to the Configure button.
  2. Select Edit business locations.
  3. Give access to new business locations: Select via dropdown menu and select the +.
  4. Identify the business location to which the user no longer has access in the Business locations table, then select Remove access.
  5. After you have edited location access for the desired users, select Back to finish the process and get back to the POS users page.

Restaurant-BO-Audit-Duplicate-Edit-business-location.png


Archiving POS users

You can deactivate POS user information via the Back Office if for example an employee is no longer actively working with the team. This means the POS user will not be able to log in to the POS from the moment of deactivation.

  1. To deactivate a POS user, select the word Yes in the active column next to the Configure button.
  2. Select No from the drop-down menu and choose the checkmark to save your changes.
  3. If you wish to make users active again, repeat the steps and select yes from the drop-down menu.

Restaurant-BO-Activating-Deactivating-Users.png

 

What’s next?

Assign POS users to a device configuration so that this device profile is only visible on the K Series app for assigned users.

If you would like to add several users to your Back Office at once or export data to save and print employee documentation beyond the Back Office, see Importing or exporting POS users.

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful