From the Back Office, create a user account for every employee that will access Restaurant POS. For accurate reporting and management, we recommend that you create a dedicated user account for each employee.
When you add a POS user, you can either adjust their permissions manually or assign them the desired user group and associated permissions, such as manager or bartender.
If you want to add several users at once, you can import users from a *CSV file.
- Log in to the Back Office with your Lightspeed Restaurant account credentials.
- From the main navigation menu, select Configuration > Users > POS users.
- Select Add a new user.
- Enter the POS user settings, such as their username and first and last names.
- Select a user group or individual user permissions.
Note: Selecting a user group will automatically give the user all permissions assigned to the group.
- Click Add user to create the user.
POS user settings
||The name that appears for the user throughout the POS.
|| The user’s first name.
|| The user’s last name.
||User group to which the user can be assigned. All groups created in Configuration > Users > POS user groups are available. By selecting a group, all rights assigned to the group are automatically assigned to the user. See About POS user groups for information.
|Identifier for local orders
||Use this field to assign a specific identifier to a user for the Drinkotec integration or Pay at Table feature.
POS user permissions
Only available if no Group is selected.
- User is a POS manager:
The user automatically has all listed user permissions.
- User can print duplicates of a customer receipt:
In the POS a customer receipt can be printed as a copy.
- User is in training, transactions aren’t committed:
Orders processed by the user will be done in training mode. Training mode transactions will be kept separate from actual customer orders in most Lightspeed reporting. To learn more, visit our Training POS users article.
- User can send a receipt by email:
The user can send a receipt on the POS to a required email address.
- User can cancel receipts on the POS:
The user can void receipts at the POS after they are processed. For example, if you need to cancel an order and its payment due to an issue.
- User can create an invoice from a customer receipt:
The user changes a receipt to an invoice on the POS. The receipt is then not paid immediately but at a later date.
- User can change the payment method of a customer receipt:
The user can change the payment method used on a finished receipt. For example, if an order was processed to cash but the customer actually wanted to pay by credit card.
- User can use the time clock to track worked hours:
The user can clock in and out on the POS. See clocking in and out for further information.
- User can apply an account profile:
The user can add categories. See Adding account profile for further information.
- User can transfer items from one account to another:
Items can be added to another order.
- User can return items:
Items that have already been sold can be returned on the POS.
- User can open the cash drawer using the open drawer button:
The cash drawer can be opened at any time without a transaction.
- User can recall a previously closed order:
The user can change a closed order to an open order.
- User can disable printing manually:
The user can decide for each transaction whether a receipt should be printed on the POS.
- User can cancel items that have been sent:
After the items have already been sent to the kitchen or bar, the user can cancel them.
- User can bypass table protection:
The user can manage orders created by other employees, even when the Users are not allowed to access open accounts created by other users setting is enabled for a POS configuration.
- User has manager rights for table transfers:
The user has all the rights for table transactions, such as moving booked items to another table or canceling a table.
- User can change the default configuration:
On the POS it is possible to define which POS profile is used by default when logging in. The user can change this configuration. See About device configurations for further information.
- User can modify sales restrictions:
The user can add, modify, or disable item quantity restrictions by long-pressing an item on the POS and selecting Sales restriction. Sales restrictions are only available for items with the Enable a counter on this item to restrict the available quantity setting enabled.
- User can split accounts:
If multiple customers at a table want to pay separately, the user can divide the order into different receipts.
- User can force a tip on an account:
The user can add a tip manually to the receipt.
- User can open and close shifts:
The user can open and close a sales period on the POS. See opening or closing a sales period for further information.
- User can reload the POS configuration:
Configurations are POS profiles that are associated with a specific menu and settings. When changes are made in the Back Office, the user can reload the configuration on the POS to see these changes. See About device configurations for further information.
- User can view and manage customers:
These are customer profiles. See About Customers for further information.
- User can capture and close payment batches:
The user can use the Settle batch option on the Settings menu to manually close a batch of credit card transactions for a fee. Settle batch is only available to users with this permission when a payment method using the Cayan (Swiper or Keyed Entry) type is present in the Back Office.
- User can reprint production dockets:
The user can reprint an order ticket for individual items or courses previously sent to the kitchen or prep station. Visit our Adding orders in Table Service mode article to learn how to reprint at the POS.
| iButton ID
||Only used for Dallas key integration; you need to enter the Dallas key number in this field to ensure iKentoo can match this User with their key.
You can always edit a POS user if you ever wish to adjust their access permissions or need to archive (deactivate) the user.
Assign POS users to a configuration so that it is only visible in the K Series app for these assigned users.
If you would like to add several users to your Back Office at once or export data to save and print employee documentation beyond the Back Office, see Importing or exporting POS users.